Incusia vs Wave

Wave alternatives when free is not the point.

Switch if the unpaid Wave tier no longer covers the reminder or the report you need, and you want a locked paid price.

Stay if Wave already sends the invoices you need without a charge, and a paid invoice tool is not the budget.

Abass GassFounder of Incusia · 8 min read
Last reviewed 14 October 2026Checked against what Wave published, and against the 14 October 2026 note where a price was not on the page

Wave has a free invoicing tier and a paid Pro tier. This page does not state Wave’s prices, because they were not on the 14 October 2026 check. Incusia's promise is different: the features you sign up with are the features you keep.

  • Features that stay on your plan

    What you buy on Incusia is not a teaser for a higher tier next year. Feature preservation is part of the product promise, written next to the price lock.

  • A human in 24 hours

    Independent reviews of Wave, including NerdWallet’s 2026 review, report support as a common reason people leave. Incusia answers with a person within 24 hours.

  • $9 with a locked rate

    Wave Pro’s price is not stated here. It was not on the 14 October 2026 check. Incusia Starter is $9, Pro is $29 if you want automation, and the signup rate does not float at renewal.

The paywall trajectory nobody warned you about

Wave was widely known as a fully free accounting and invoicing product through 2022. After that, paid Wave Pro became the home for features that used to sit in the free product. Bank reconciliation moved. Stronger reporting moved. Priority support moved. The free tier still exists, and it still includes invoicing. “Free Wave” in 2020 and “free Wave” in 2026 are not the same surface.

That trajectory is not a crime. Software companies add paid tiers. It is a planning problem if you built a workflow on a free feature and later found it on a paid plan. This page does not state Wave’s current prices. If you only send invoices and you are still inside whatever Wave includes without a charge, that is a real advantage.

Incusia’s bet is the opposite shape. You pay $9 (Starter), $29 (Pro), or $99 once (Lifetime). The features on that plan stay on that plan. New features can launch on a higher plan. Old features you already have do not vanish behind a new meter.

  • Wave prices: not stated. They were not on the 14 October 2026 check.
  • Wave Pro is the paid feature bundle. Its price is not stated here.
  • Incusia: paid from $9, with feature preservation and a locked signup rate.

The support problem

Wave’s customer support is the most consistent complaint in independent reviews. NerdWallet’s 2026 review notes users criticizing support to the point of switching. That is NerdWallet’s reporting, not an Incusia study. File a question from a free Wave account before you depend on the product for tax season.

Incusia guarantees a real human response in 24 hours on Starter, 12 hours on Pro and Lifetime. The inbox is me@abassinvoice.com. There is no chatbot as the only door. You get a person. You do not get a 24/7 enterprise desk in six time zones.

  • NerdWallet’s 2026 review reports Wave support complaints as a switch trigger.
  • Wave Pro advertises priority support. The price of that bundle is not stated here.
  • Incusia: human reply in 24 hours (12 on Pro), no chatbot gate.

When you should stay on Wave

Stay on Wave if you send a handful of invoices and you are not paying for the tool. What that unpaid tier includes was not on the 14 October 2026 check, so confirm it on Wave’s own page. If $9 is not in the budget, we are not the right fit. A free plan with a published client cap is a different page: Invoice Ninja stops the free plan at 5 clients.

Do not upgrade to Wave Pro, and do not switch to Incusia, if the free tier already covers you. Switch when the free tier lost a feature you need, when support has already failed you, or when you want a locked paid rate.

H&R Block’s ownership is a stability point in Wave’s favor. Incusia is a solo-founded product. We offset that with written terms on price and features, not with a claim that we are as large as Block.

  • Stay on Wave if invoicing volume is low and you are not paying for it.
  • Consider Incusia if you are already looking at Wave Pro, or if support has failed you.

What you are actually buying

Wave’s prices are not stated on this page. They were not on the 14 October 2026 check. Incusia Starter is $9 for unlimited invoices, payment buttons, and a locked rate. Incusia Pro is $29 if you want reminders, recurring invoices, currencies, and late fees. If Wave still sends your invoices without a charge, and that is the whole job, stay there.

The $9 is for people who will pay to stop wondering which Wave feature moves next. It is not for people who send four invoices a year. Those people should stay on Wave if the unpaid tier still fits.

If you are already paying for Wave Pro, compare that bill with Incusia based on whether you need Wave’s bookkeeping. Incusia will not replace Wave’s ledger. Pick one invoicing home.

  • Unpaid Wave: the right answer when the budget is zero and that tier still fits.
  • Wave Pro: compare against Incusia only if you were going to pay anyway. Its price is not stated here.
  • Incusia $9: a locked invoicing plan, not an accounting suite.

Where Wave is strong

Wave built its reputation on accounting and invoicing for small businesses that could not afford paid tools. What the unpaid tier includes today was not on the 14 October 2026 check, so this page does not list those features or a price as current. Confirm Wave’s own plan page.

  • Long reputation for low-cost accounting
  • Bookkeeping sits next to invoicing
  • Backed by H&R Block

Key differences

Where Incusia and Wave differ

Shared capabilities are left out. This is where the two platforms diverge.

Pricing & cost model

  • How you start

    Incusia

    7 day free trial, then Starter at $9, Pro at $29, or Lifetime at $99

    Wave

    Not published
  • Pricing model

    Incusia

    Simple flat pricing

    Wave

    Not published
  • Price locked at signup

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Paid tier exists. Current price not stated
  • Starting price for unlimited invoices

    Incusia

    $9/month

    Wave

    Not published
  • No invoice caps on paid plans

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Not published
  • One-time lifetime option

    Incusia

    $99

    Wave

    Not available

Invoice creation

  • Unlimited invoices on paid plans

    Incusia

    Unlimited on every paid plan

    Wave

    Not published
  • Client limit

    Incusia

    Unlimited on paid plans

    Wave

    None published
  • Recurring invoices

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Available
  • Multiple currencies

    Incusia

    Every paid plan, 30+

    Wave

    Available
  • Custom logo

    Incusia

    Starter and above

    Wave

    Available

Payment collection

  • Payment button on invoices

    Incusia

    Starter and above

    Wave

    Wave Payments / processors
  • Stripe integration

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Wave Payments
  • PayPal integration

    Incusia

    No

    Wave

    Available
  • Apple Pay / Google Pay

    Incusia

    Via Stripe

    Wave

    Through Wave Payments
  • Get paid directly to your bank

    Incusia

    Stripe Connect

    Wave

    Through Wave Payments

Business platform

  • Time Tracking

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    No
  • Expense Tracking

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Receipts / bookkeeping
  • Estimates

    Incusia

    Starter, Pro, and Lifetime

    Wave

    Not published
  • Client CRM

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Basic customer list
  • Analytics

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Not published
  • Client Portal

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    No

Automation

  • Auto-reminders for late payments

    Incusia

    Starter, Pro, and Lifetime

    Wave

    Available, some items on Pro
  • Automatic late fee calculation

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Limited on free
  • Recurring billing

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    Wave

    Available
  • Email delivery tracking

    Incusia

    Coming 2027

    Wave

    Not published

Support & experience

  • Real human support

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Common complaint in independent reviews
  • Response time

    Incusia

    24 hours, 12 on Pro

    Wave

    Priority support on Pro
  • Cancel with one click

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Account settings
  • No account traps

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Features have moved to Pro since 2022

Deployment

  • Where your data lives

    Incusia

    Hosted cloud

    Wave

    Wave / H&R Block cloud
  • Export your data anytime

    Incusia

    PDF and CSV on paid plans

    Wave

    Export available
  • No lock-in

    Incusia

    Yes

    Wave

    Free tier is easy to start, paid wall can move

Prices for this product were not part of the 14 October 2026 check, so they are not stated on this page.

Where Incusia is different

We chose a paid plan with the features and the rate written down.

  • Guaranteed features that never move behind a paywall
  • Real human support in 24 hours
  • Price locked in writing
  • $9/month for people willing to pay for quality
  • Modern beautiful design
  • Solo founder building for the long term

FAQ

Common questions

Is Wave still free to invoice with?

This page does not state a Wave price. It was not on the 14 October 2026 check. Wave was known as free accounting and invoicing through 2022, and an unpaid tier still includes invoicing. Confirm what that tier includes now on Wave’s own page.

What moved onto Wave Pro?

Reports say bank reconciliation, stronger reporting, and priority support moved onto Wave Pro after 2022. That packaging was not re-checked on 14 October 2026, so this page does not price it. Incusia’s terms keep paid features on the plan you bought.

Should I leave Wave if it already works?

No. If the unpaid tier sends the invoices and you are content, stay. Incusia Starter is $9 a month after a 7 day free trial. Switching for a new coat of paint wastes a weekend. Switch when you are about to pay for something the unpaid tier lost.

What do reviews say about Wave support?

NerdWallet’s 2026 review says users criticize Wave support enough that some switch. That is their review, not our survey. Wave Pro advertises priority support, and its price is not stated here. Incusia replies with a person within 24 hours, or 12 on Pro.

Can I bring Wave clients into Incusia?

Export customers and invoices in the formats Wave offers, then add the people you still bill. There is no one-click importer. Leave the books in Wave if you used the ledger. Incusia will not become that ledger. A small list is a weekend.

Will Incusia raise my price later?

New customers might see a different list price. Your account keeps the rate in the Terms, and features you paid for stay on that plan. That is the hedge against a feature moving up a tier later. If the contract is not enough, stay on Wave.

How does Wave make money if invoicing is unpaid?

The check did not publish a current price. Wave earns money on payment processing, other add-ons, and a paid Pro tier. That is a normal model. It is also how a feature that used to be unpaid can later sit on Pro. Read the live plan page before you depend on it.

Does Incusia do Wave’s bookkeeping?

No. Wave’s reputation is accounting plus invoicing. Incusia does not reconcile a bank or keep a general ledger. Starter at $9 is invoices, estimates, reminders, and a payment button. Pro at $29 adds recurring invoices, late fees, expenses, and time.

What is the Incusia trial?

A 7 day free trial, then a paid plan. Clients are not capped on the way in. If $9 is not in the budget and Wave still covers the invoice, Wave is the honest choice. Do not switch to buy a feature you are not missing.

Who should switch from Wave?

Someone whose unpaid tier lost the reminder, the report, or the support they now need, and who does not need Wave’s books. Also someone who wants a locked paid invoice tool. If the unpaid tier still does the whole job, do not switch.

Or pay a locked price for the invoicing and leave the books aside

Free is a real offer when it covers the job. It is a poor offer when the job is the reminder and the fee.

Starter

$9/month

Send invoices and estimates, get paid

  • Unlimited invoices and clients
  • Estimates clients can sign
  • See when an invoice is opened
  • Automatic payment reminders
  • Card payment button
  • 10 layouts, your logo
  • Made in Incusia on your documents
  • 30+ currencies

Price locked forever

Most popular

Pro

$29/month

Run the whole business from one place

Everything in Starter, plus

  • Recurring invoices that bill themselves
  • Chases a declined card for you
  • Late fees, applied automatically
  • Deposits and payment plans
  • Receipt scanning and mileage
  • Bill expenses straight to a client
  • Time tracking onto invoices
  • Estimates clients pick options from
  • Client pipeline and cash forecast
  • Client portal
  • 12 hour support
  • Remove Made in Incusia

Price locked forever

Lifetime

$99once

Pro, forever. One payment, nothing after that.

  • Everything in Pro, for good
  • Every feature we ship later
  • 24 hour support
  • Direct line to the founder
  • Founder Playbook · Coming 2027
  • Rate Setter · Coming 2027
  • Remove Made in Incusia
Written by Abass Gass

I looked at Wave because 'free' is the comparison everyone starts with, and I wanted the page to say what was actually on their site. I recheck it when their pricing page says something this one does not.

More about Incusia
Sources and when this was checkedWhere a Wave price is omitted, it was not on their page at the check described in this comparison. Incusia prices are the three cards. Last reviewed on 14 October 2026. Reviewed again the next time that page is checked.

All trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Incusia is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any company named on this page. Prices for this product were not part of the 14 October 2026 check, so they are not stated on this page. Contact me@abassinvoice.com if you spot an error.