Incusia vs Xero

Xero alternative for freelancers who only need invoicing

Abass GassFounder of Incusia · 7 min read
Last reviewed 23 October 2026Checked against Xero's own pricing page on the date printed in the comparison. The date on this page is 23 October 2026.

Xero is accounting software that happens to invoice. Someone who only needs to send invoices is buying a general ledger, a chart of accounts, and bank reconciliation they will never open. The US list price after the introductory months is the number to compare, not the discount on the first six.

  • Stay on Xero if you keep the books

    Stay if you reconcile the bank yourself, if your accountant works in Xero, or if you file sales tax or VAT from it. That is the job the product is built for, and an invoicing tool will not do it.

  • Switch if you only send invoices

    Switch if you are a freelancer or a one person business, your accountant handles the books, and the only thing you need from software is invoices out and payments in.

  • The ongoing US price is not the intro

    On Xero's US pricing page, checked 23 October 2026, Early is $2.70 for the first six months and then $27. Growing is $5.90 then $59. Established is $9.70 then $97.

What Xero is genuinely better at

Xero is a ledger with an invoice button, and the ledger is the part worth paying for when you use it. The US pricing page lists bank reconciliation, bills, sales tax, reports, and document capture on the plans. Forecasts run 30, 60, or 180 days. Higher plans add dashboards, multiple currencies, projects, and expense claims.

A chart of accounts, bank rules, and a trail from the invoice to the return live in one login. Payroll is an add-on, Xero Payroll powered by Gusto, at $36 a month plus $6 per person. Auto-reconcile on Early is an optional $5 a month. New US customers also get a product specialist for the first 90 days.

  • Bank reconciliation, bills, sales tax, and reports on the published US plans.
  • Cash flow forecasts of 30, 60, or 180 days depending on the plan.
  • Payroll add-on at $36 a month plus $6 per person, and a 90 day onboarding coach for new US customers.

The US prices after the introductory months

Checked 23 October 2026 on Xero's own US pricing page. Prices are in USD and exclude tax. New customers in the United States get 90% off the base plan for the first six months. The offer page says it runs until 11:59pm UTC on 2 November 2026. After that window, or after month six, the regular price renews. Xero also says it can change pricing at any time. There is no price lock.

Early caps you at quotes and 20 invoices, plus 5 bills. The cap covers approving and sending, and some app transactions count. Growing and Established do not publish a cap, and they do not publish a separate unlimited price, so that cell is blank. Online invoice payments are offered. The page says fees apply and does not print the percentage, so that cell is blank too.

For six months, Early at $2.70 and Growing at $5.90 cost less than Starter at $9. Established's intro at $9.70 is already above it. From month seven, Early is $27, Growing is $59, and Established is $97. Starter stays $9. You are comparing a ledger with a tool that only invoices.

Xero US list prices, checked 23 October 2026. The payment fee cell is blank because the pricing page does not print a percentage.
PlanFirst 6 monthsThen, per month
Early (20 invoices, 5 bills)$2.70$27
Growing$5.90$59
Established$9.70$97
Online invoice payment fee

What switching actually costs

The chart of accounts, bank rules, and last year's reports do not come with you, and they should not. If your accountant still files from Xero, keep the organization open until they say the file can close. An overlap month is cheaper than reconstructed books.

Open invoices are the practical mess. Finish them in Xero, or reissue them and name the old number on the new one. A client with a live Xero payment link will pay the old invoice if you leave it open. Repeating invoices have to be recreated. A short client list is an afternoon. Saving every old PDF is a weekend.

Two smaller frictions show up later. Xero says you can move to a cheaper plan only one month after an upgrade, so do not upgrade in the final month to export something. And the introductory price ends. If you are in month two of the 90% offer, the bill you are reacting to is not the bill in month seven. Compare $27, $59, or $97 with the work you actually do, then decide.

  • Keep Xero until your accountant has the file they need.
  • Reissue open invoices or let them finish where the client already has the link.
  • The cheap months are the first six. The decision belongs to the price after that.

Who is buying a ledger they will not open

A freelancer who sends a handful of invoices and emails a CSV to an accountant is not using reconciliation, 1099 tools, or a forecast. Early still includes those, with a 20 invoice ceiling. Growing, after the intro, is $59 a month for a general ledger. That is a fair price for a bookkeeper. It is a lot of ledger for a payment button.

Incusia Starter is $9 a month for unlimited invoices, with the rate locked in the Terms of Service. It will not reconcile a bank account, file a sales tax return, or run payroll. If those are the Tuesday tasks, Xero is the better product and this page should talk you out of switching. If those tasks belong to someone else, the ledger is a subscription you open only when an invoice is late.

Key differences

Where Incusia and Xero differ

Shared capabilities are left out. This is where the two platforms diverge.

Swipe the table to compare

Capability comparison between Incusia and Xero. Pricing checked 23 October 2026 against the company's own pricing page.
CapabilityIncusiaXero
Pricing & cost model
Free plan7 day trial, then Starter at $9No free plan on the US pricing page
Pricing modelSimple flat pricingEarly, Growing, Established
Price locked at signupYesNo. Xero can change prices
Starting price for unlimited invoices$9/month
No invoice caps on paid plansYesEarly: 20 invoices. Higher plans: cap not stated
One-time lifetime option$99Not offered
Invoice creation
Unlimited invoices on paid plansUnlimited on every plan, including Free20 on Early. Higher plans not stated
Client limit5 on Free, unlimited on paid plansNot published
Recurring invoicesPro and LifetimeNot published
Multiple currenciesAll plans, 30+Multiple currencies on Established
Custom logoStarter and aboveNot published
Payment collection
Payment button on invoicesStarter and aboveOnline invoice payments. Fee not published
Stripe integrationYesTap to pay, powered by Stripe
PayPal integrationNoNot published
Apple Pay / Google PayVia StripeTap to pay on Android and iPhone
Get paid directly to your bankStripe ConnectNot published
Business platform
Time TrackingPro and LifetimeProjects on Established
Expense TrackingPro and LifetimeExpense and mileage on Established
Estimates/ProposalsStarter, Pro, and LifetimeQuotes on the published plans
Client CRMPro and LifetimeNot published
AnalyticsPro and LifetimeReports on every plan. Dashboards from Growing
Client PortalPro and LifetimeNot published
Automation
Auto-reminders for late paymentsStarter, Pro, and LifetimeNot published
Automatic late fee calculationPro and LifetimeNot published
Recurring billingPro and LifetimeNot published
Email delivery trackingYesNot published
Support & experience
Real human supportYesProduct specialist for the first 90 days, new US customers
Response time24 hours, 12 on ProNot published
Cancel with one clickYesSubscriptions auto-renew until cancelled
No account trapsYesNot published
Deployment
Where your data livesHosted cloudVendor cloud
Export your data anytimePDF on every plan, CSV on LifetimeNot published
No lock-inYesA cheaper plan waits 1 month after an upgrade

Pricing checked 23 October 2026 against the company's own pricing page.

Where Xero is strong

Xero is built for people who keep books. Reconciliation, bills, sales tax, forecasts, and a file an accountant already knows are the product. The invoice is one screen inside that file. If you or your accountant work in the file, the monthly price is buying the right thing.

  • Bank reconciliation and real-time reports
  • Bills, sales tax, and document capture
  • Forecasts and, on higher plans, projects and multiple currencies
  • A 90 day onboarding coach for new US customers

Where Incusia is different

Incusia does not keep a general ledger. Starter is $9 a month for invoices, estimates, and getting paid, and the price you start at stays the price you pay. Pro at $29 adds reminders, recurring invoices, and late fees. It will not replace Xero for someone who files from it.

  • Starter is $9 a month, locked at signup
  • Unlimited invoices on the paid plan, with no ledger to set up
  • Cancel with one click in the dashboard
  • The books stay with your accountant if that is already the arrangement

FAQ

Common questions

Or invoice without opening a full accounting file

A ledger is the right tool when you need a ledger. An invoice does not require one.

Starter

$9/month

Send invoices and estimates, get paid

  • Unlimited invoices and clients
  • Estimates clients can sign
  • See when an invoice is opened
  • Automatic payment reminders
  • Card payment button
  • 10 layouts, your logo
  • Made in Incusia on your documents
  • 30+ currencies

Price locked forever

Most popular

Pro

$29/month

Run the whole business from one place

Everything in Starter, plus

  • Recurring invoices that bill themselves
  • Chases a declined card for you
  • Late fees, applied automatically
  • Deposits and payment plans
  • Receipt scanning and mileage
  • Bill expenses straight to a client
  • Time tracking onto invoices
  • Estimates clients pick options from
  • Client pipeline and cash forecast
  • Client portal
  • 12 hour support
  • Remove Made in Incusia

Price locked forever

Lifetime

$99once

Pro, forever. One payment, nothing after that.

  • Everything in Pro, for good
  • Every feature we ship later
  • 24 hour support
  • Direct line to the founder
  • Founder Playbook
  • Rate Setter
  • Remove Made in Incusia
Written by Abass Gass

I have opened accounting software to send one invoice and spent the time on the books instead. I know the difference because I do both jobs, and they are not the same afternoon. I recheck Xero's prices when their page changes.

More about Incusia
Sources and when this was checkedXero prices come from Xero's own pricing page on the check date in this comparison. Incusia prices are the three cards. Last reviewed on 23 October 2026. Reviewed again the next time that pricing page is checked.

All trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Incusia is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any company named on this page. Pricing checked 23 October 2026 against the company's own pricing page. Contact me@abassinvoice.com if you spot an error.