Incusia vs QuickBooks

QuickBooks pricing, without the accounting complexity.

Switch if you bought QuickBooks only to send invoices, and you do not use the ledger, payroll, or inventory.

Stay if your accountant works in a QuickBooks file, or you run payroll, sales tax, or stock from it.

Abass GassFounder of Incusia · 9 min read
Last reviewed 14 October 2026Checked against QuickBooks' own pricing page on the date printed in the comparison. The date on this page is 14 October 2026.

QuickBooks Solopreneur has a free plan at $0 and a Lite plan at $20 per month. QuickBooks Online Simple Start is $38 per month, and it is a different product. If you bought QuickBooks just to send invoices, you are paying for accounting software you do not use. Incusia is $9 per month, focused on invoicing.

  • Invoicing without a full ledger

    No chart of accounts to set up before you can bill a client. Create the invoice, send the payment button, get paid. Accounting stays with your accountant.

  • $9 next to free or $20

    QuickBooks Solopreneur, checked 14 October 2026, is $0 on Free and $20 on Lite. QuickBooks Online Simple Start is $38 and is a different product. Incusia Starter is $9 per month for unlimited invoices.

  • A rate that does not reset at renewal

    Intuit has announced renewal increases more than once. Incusia locks the price you sign up at in the Terms of Service for the life of the account.

You are paying for accounting you do not use

QuickBooks Online is accounting software. Double-entry bookkeeping, payroll, inventory, sales tax, and tax-prep sit in the same product as invoicing. That breadth is why accountants recommend it. It is also why the bill is the size it is.

QuickBooks Solopreneur Free is $0 per month and Lite is $20 per month, checked 14 October 2026. Estimates are included on the free plan. Invoice and client limits on the entry plan are not published. QuickBooks Online Simple Start is $38 per month, and it is a different product. Other QuickBooks Online plan prices were not on that check, so they are not stated here.

If you mostly send invoices

A large share of freelancers did not buy QuickBooks to run payroll or warehouse stock. They bought it because a client asked for a professional invoice. If invoicing is most of what you click, you are funding modules you never open. Payroll and inventory have real value when you need them. They have a real cost when you do not.

Incusia does not replace QuickBooks as a ledger. There is no general ledger, no bank rules engine, no payroll. You get unlimited invoices on Starter, a payment button for credit cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay, and a dashboard that shows sent, viewed, and paid. Pro adds reminders, recurring invoices, late fees, and currencies.

QuickBooks asks you to think like a bookkeeper: accounts, tax settings, opening balances. Incusia asks for your business name, a client, and a line item. If your accountant already keeps the books in QuickBooks or Xero, keep that relationship. Export PDFs and, on Lifetime, CSV. Hand those files to the person who files the return.

Create invoice. Send. Nudge. Collect. That loop does not need inventory or a 1099 workflow. QuickBooks Solopreneur Lite is $20 a month for that loop, and a free plan exists at $0. Incusia does the loop at $9 on Starter. If the invoice is there so a card can be taken at the counter, Square Invoices is the closer comparison.

QuickBooks reports are excellent because they sit on a ledger. Incusia will not give you a cash-basis P&L tied to every bank feed. If you need that weekly, you need a ledger. If you need to know who has not paid, you need an invoice list. Those are different reports.

  • QuickBooks Solopreneur, checked 14 October 2026: Free $0, Lite $20 per month. QuickBooks Online Simple Start is $38 per month and is a different product.
  • Incusia Starter is $9 per month for unlimited invoices. Pro is $29 for automation. Lifetime is $99 once.
  • If invoicing is most of your QuickBooks usage, you are paying accounting prices for an invoice sender.

No price locked in writing

QuickBooks Solopreneur does not publish a contractual price lock. The figures checked on 14 October 2026 are the free plan at $0, Lite at $20, and QuickBooks Online Simple Start at $38, which is a different product. Renewal dates and other plan prices were not on that check, so they are not repeated here.

Incusia’s counter is contractual. The price at signup is the price for the life of the account, written in the Terms of Service. Future list prices for new customers can change. Yours does not.

When QuickBooks is the right choice

Keep QuickBooks if you need real accounting. Keep it if you run payroll in the same system, track inventory, collect sales tax across jurisdictions, or your accountant will only work from a QuickBooks company file. Those are the job of a ledger. Incusia will not grow into that job.

If invoicing is already most of the clicks, waiting “in case payroll happens” is how a $38 Simple Start subscription stays in the budget for a ledger you are not running. Buy the ledger when you hire or when inventory is real. Until then, a $9 invoice tool plus an accountant with a CSV is a complete system for a lot of one-person shops.

A hybrid is common. Accountant stays on QuickBooks. You send invoices from Incusia, export CSV or PDF, and they enter what they need. That only works if your accountant agrees. Ask before you cancel Intuit. If they say the audit trail has to live in QuickBooks, listen.

  • Stay on QuickBooks for payroll, inventory, sales tax, or accountant-required files.
  • Consider Incusia when invoicing is the feature you actually use.
  • A split (Incusia invoices, QuickBooks books) only works if your accountant agrees.

What a freelancer actually uses

Open a typical freelancer QuickBooks company and watch the left nav. Banking, expenses, payroll, reports, tax, mileage, W-9. The invoice screen is one item in that list. If you have never run payroll and you do not stock products, most of that nav is scenery you still pay for.

Simple Start at $38 per month, checked 14 October 2026, is a different product from QuickBooks Solopreneur, and it is more than four times Incusia Starter. Other QuickBooks Online tiers were not on that check, so they are not named here.

Solopreneur Lite at $20 is Intuit’s paid answer to “I only needed invoices,” and a free plan sits under it at $0. Lite is still more than twice Incusia Starter, still QuickBooks, and still accounting software with invoicing attached. If Solopreneur does everything you need and you like Intuit, stay.

Incusia will not generate a P&L that your CPA loves. It will show which invoices are viewed and which are overdue. It will send a payment link. On Pro, it will remind the client without you writing the email. Keep a ledger somewhere. Do not assume the invoice sender and the ledger have to be the same login.

  • If the left nav in QuickBooks is mostly untouched, you are paying for a ledger you do not run.
  • Solopreneur Lite at $20, and the free plan at $0, were the Solopreneur prices on 14 October 2026. Neither is a price locked in writing.
  • Incusia is invoicing. Accountants still need a ledger. Do not confuse the two jobs.

Where QuickBooks is strong

QuickBooks is genuinely the market leader in small business accounting for good reason. It handles double-entry bookkeeping, payroll, inventory, tax preparation, sales tax tracking, and it integrates with virtually every accountant, bank, and business tool. If you need real accounting software or your accountant requires QuickBooks specifically, it is the right tool for that job.

  • Full double-entry accounting
  • Payroll integration
  • Inventory management
  • Accountant familiarity
  • Massive integration ecosystem

Key differences

Where Incusia and QuickBooks differ

Shared capabilities are left out. This is where the two platforms diverge.

Pricing & cost model

  • How you start

    Incusia

    7 day free trial, then Starter at $9, Pro at $29, or Lifetime at $99

    QuickBooks

    Free at $0, Lite at $20/month
  • Pricing model

    Incusia

    Simple flat pricing

    QuickBooks

    Modular, per-product (QuickBooks Online)
  • Price locked at signup

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    No contractual price lock published
  • Starting price for unlimited invoices

    Incusia

    $9/month

    QuickBooks

    $20/month on Lite. Simple Start is $38 and is a different product
  • No invoice caps on paid plans

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Not published
  • One-time lifetime option

    Incusia

    $99

    QuickBooks

    Not available

Invoice creation

  • Unlimited invoices on paid plans

    Incusia

    Unlimited on every paid plan

    QuickBooks

    $20 on Lite
  • Client limit

    Incusia

    Unlimited on paid plans

    QuickBooks

    Not published
  • Recurring invoices

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Available
  • Multiple currencies

    Incusia

    Every paid plan, 30+

    QuickBooks

    Higher plans / settings
  • Custom logo

    Incusia

    Starter and above

    QuickBooks

    Available

Payment collection

  • Payment button on invoices

    Incusia

    Starter and above

    QuickBooks

    QuickBooks Payments
  • Stripe integration

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Not native. Intuit payments stack
  • PayPal integration

    Incusia

    No

    QuickBooks

    Integrations available
  • Apple Pay / Google Pay

    Incusia

    Via Stripe

    QuickBooks

    Through QuickBooks Payments
  • Get paid directly to your bank

    Incusia

    Stripe Connect

    QuickBooks

    ACH and cards via Intuit

Business platform

  • Time Tracking

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Yes
  • Expense Tracking

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Yes
  • Estimates

    Incusia

    Starter, Pro, and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Included on the free plan
  • Client CRM

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Customers and jobs
  • Analytics

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Yes
  • Client Portal

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Customer hub / payments

Automation

  • Auto-reminders for late payments

    Incusia

    Starter, Pro, and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Available
  • Automatic late fee calculation

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Available
  • Recurring billing

    Incusia

    Pro and Lifetime

    QuickBooks

    Available
  • Email delivery tracking

    Incusia

    Coming 2027

    QuickBooks

    Not published

Support & experience

  • Real human support

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Help site, callbacks on higher plans
  • Response time

    Incusia

    24 hours, 12 on Pro

    QuickBooks

    Varies by plan
  • Cancel with one click

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Through Intuit account settings
  • No account traps

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Ecosystem and payroll add-ons

Deployment

  • Where your data lives

    Incusia

    Hosted cloud

    QuickBooks

    Intuit cloud
  • Export your data anytime

    Incusia

    PDF and CSV on paid plans

    QuickBooks

    Strong accountant export
  • No lock-in

    Incusia

    Yes

    QuickBooks

    Accountant and bank ecosystem

Pricing checked 14 October 2026 against the company's own pricing page.

Where Incusia is different

Incusia is not trying to replace QuickBooks. We are trying to replace the QuickBooks bill for people who only use it for invoicing.

  • $9/month instead of free or $20/month on Solopreneur
  • Focused on invoicing, not full accounting
  • Price locked forever contractually
  • One-click cancellation
  • Faster to set up (no chart of accounts required)
  • Simpler for people who just need to bill clients

FAQ

Common questions

Is Incusia a replacement for QuickBooks?

No. QuickBooks is a ledger, with payroll, inventory, and tax tools. Incusia sends invoices and collects them. If you need the books, or your accountant requires a QuickBooks file, keep QuickBooks. The narrower job starts at $9 a month on Starter.

What prices did the QuickBooks check actually show?

The 14 October 2026 check showed Solopreneur at $0 and Lite at $20, and Simple Start at $38 as a different product. Price-increase dates were not on that page, so they are not stated here. Incusia locks the signup rate. It does not predict Intuit.

Is Solopreneur’s unpaid plan enough?

It is listed at $0, and estimates are included. Invoice and client limits on that plan were not published, so they are not stated here. If it already sends your invoices, stay. Incusia starts with a 7 day free trial, then $9.

Does my accountant have to use Incusia?

No. You can send PDFs or CSV from a paid plan. There is no live QuickBooks sync. If the accountant wants invoices created inside QuickBooks so the audit trail is native, keep invoicing there. Ask before you cancel the file they already use.

Can I move my QuickBooks customers?

Export the customer list and add the people you still bill. There is no one-click importer. Finish open invoices in QuickBooks or reissue them so the payment link is not split. Leave the historical books where the accountant already has them.

What if I need payroll?

Stay on QuickBooks, or another ledger, for payroll. Incusia does not run payroll or double-entry books. A split works only if your accountant agrees: Incusia for the invoice, QuickBooks for the books. If payroll has to sit beside the invoice, do not split.

Does an Intuit price change move my Incusia rate?

No. They are different bills. Your Incusia rate is the one in the Terms for that account. Simple Start was $38 on 14 October 2026. If Intuit changes it, your $9 Starter or $29 Pro does not follow.

Is Solopreneur the same product as Simple Start?

No. The check treats them as different products. Solopreneur was $0 or $20. Simple Start was $38. Other QuickBooks Online prices were not on that page, so they are not named here. Do not treat one number as the price of the other.

What do I lose if I leave the ledger?

Bank rules, sales tax across jurisdictions, inventory, and the file your accountant already knows. Incusia will not grow into that. You can still send a CSV or a PDF. You cannot ask it to file the return. If those screens are why you open QuickBooks, stay.

Who is this switch actually for?

Someone who bought QuickBooks because a client asked for a proper invoice, and who never opens payroll, stock, or the ledger. If that is you, Starter at $9 is the invoicing tool. If the left-hand navigation is how you run the business, stay.

Or send invoices without buying the ledger

If the job is the invoice, the accounting suite is a different purchase.

Starter

$9/month

Send invoices and estimates, get paid

  • Unlimited invoices and clients
  • Estimates clients can sign
  • See when an invoice is opened
  • Automatic payment reminders
  • Card payment button
  • 10 layouts, your logo
  • Made in Incusia on your documents
  • 30+ currencies

Price locked forever

Most popular

Pro

$29/month

Run the whole business from one place

Everything in Starter, plus

  • Recurring invoices that bill themselves
  • Chases a declined card for you
  • Late fees, applied automatically
  • Deposits and payment plans
  • Receipt scanning and mileage
  • Bill expenses straight to a client
  • Time tracking onto invoices
  • Estimates clients pick options from
  • Client pipeline and cash forecast
  • Client portal
  • 12 hour support
  • Remove Made in Incusia

Price locked forever

Lifetime

$99once

Pro, forever. One payment, nothing after that.

  • Everything in Pro, for good
  • Every feature we ship later
  • 24 hour support
  • Direct line to the founder
  • Founder Playbook · Coming 2027
  • Rate Setter · Coming 2027
  • Remove Made in Incusia
Written by Abass Gass

I have paid for accounting software because I needed to send an invoice. The books and the invoice are different jobs, and I know which one I open. I recheck the QuickBooks figures when their pricing page moves.

More about Incusia
Sources and when this was checkedQuickBooks prices come from Intuit's own pricing page on the check date in this comparison. Incusia prices are the three cards. Last reviewed on 14 October 2026. Reviewed again the next time that pricing page is checked.

All trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Incusia is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any company named on this page. Pricing checked 14 October 2026 against the company's own pricing page. Contact me@abassinvoice.com if you spot an error.